About Us

 

The Northeast Barbecue Society (NEBS) was founded to promote the traditions, lifestyle, and skills associated with barbecuing, slow smoking, cold smoking and grilling.

NEBS offers classes related to barbecuing and outdoor cooking, performs cooking demos, and promote barbecue and barbecue traditions through publications, contests, and social gatherings. We help to connect barbecue contest organizers and competitors throughout the region, and support them by defining fair and impartial rules for running barbecue and outdoor cooking competitions.

NEBS is supported primarily through membership dues and donations to the organization. We are an all volunteer organization with hundreds of members throughout the northeastern United States.  We are also a tax exempt 501(c)3 public charity.

Members receive a monthly printed newsletter The National Barbecue News, in which we publish competition information, tips on cooking, book reviews, and features about “where to find it”, whether it’s BBQ joints, equipment, that “just-right-secret-ingredient,” or notices on upcoming events.  In addition we periodically publish barbecue information for the general public on our website and social media channels.

NEBS membership is not contingent on age, race, religion, color, gender, national origin or sexual orientation.

2017 NEBS Officers
President: Kim Stanfield, kstanfield@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/17)
Vice President: Tom Ryan, tryan@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/17)
Treasurer: Chris Clegg, cclegg@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/18)
Recording Secretary: Scott Abrutyn, sabrutyn@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/18)

NEBS Directors
Peter Kelleher, pkelleher@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/18)
Michael Strout, mstrout@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/18)
Eoin Lynch, elynch@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/18)
Antonio (Tony) Olive, tolive@nullnebs.org – (term ends 12/18)

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinmail